Google-Translate-Swedish Google-Translate-English to French Google-Translate-English to German Google-Translate-English to Italian Google-Translate-English to Dutch Google-Translate-English to Portuguese Google-Translate-English to Russian BETA Google-Translate-English to Spanish
 
 
Windows 7 - How to Move Your User Account Folders


Windows 7 automatically creates a selection of folders when you create a user account. These folders provide a convenient default location for storing all of your personal files. These folders are associated with your user account and, if you have an administrator account, the folders will, by default, be inaccessible by other users of your computer. While these folders are extremely useful to have, you may find yourself wanting to change their locations. If, for example, you find yourself running out of disk space on your primary partition or hard drive, you may want to relocate specific user account folders to another drive. Follow the instructions below to learn how to do this.

First, open your start menu and click on your user name just below your user account picture in the top-right. Windows Explorer will open and you'll be presented with a selection of folders for your user account including download, music, documents, pictures, videos and more. You cannot change the location of the entire folder, but you can for any individual folder in this list. Find the folder that you want to change the location for and right-click on it. Select "Properties." When the Properties dialogue appears, click the "Location" tab.

You'll find the current directory for these files entered into the text box. Either type in a new directory or click the button "Move" and browse to the new location that you want to use. Click "Select folder" when ready. The new directory will appear in the text box. Click "OK" to continue.

You'll be asked if you want to move over all of the files from the old location to the new one. Generally, it's a good idea to do this as it will help to keep your files organized and prevent programs from being unable to find data contained within the old folder. Click "Yes" to begin the copying process or click "No" to change the directory without copying over any files. The files in the original directory will stay there. Nothing will be deleted.

 

Microsoft Windows is a registered trademark of Microsoft Corporation in the United States and other countries. Speed improvements vary based on your system configuration. ErrorTeck is not endorsed or affiliated with either Microsoft or the third party applications it supports.